Okay Fine, it’s FALL.

I haven’t really wanted to believe it, but I suppose that September 22nd is as good a day as any to admit that okay, fine, it’s fall.

Part of my reluctance to make the switch is that all of my warmer, fall clothing is still in space bags, stacked in my bedroom due to lack of a dresser. Part is the fact I’m still running my air conditioner every day and yet another part is due to the fact I am still sweating my face off when I go outside.

Regardless, Summer is over (womp, womp) and it’s time to change gears. I even went to a farm last week and picked apples and some other veggies. If reaping the harvest isn’t a sign of the changing seasons I don’t know what is.

1271196_10201972472533374_1760901517_o

With the onset of this lovely season, my friend Miriel asked for some good soup recipes which got me thinking about my old go-tos.  I shared them with a couple people but considering all the meal planning that’s going on I thought I’d share with everyone. I wish I could take credit for these delicious creations. I can’t, but I hope they make it into your regular rotation!

1. Broccoli, Cannelini Bean & Cheddar Soup – Eating Well

Source – Eating Well

This soup is so delicious and pretty simple. It’s a good way to get veggies and some plant-based protein into your family as well. I think I saute up some onions and a little garlic to add to this one as well. Things are rarely complete without onions and garlic in this house.

2. Butternut Squash Bisque – Oprah’s O Magazine

Source: Maria Robledo, Oprah.com

Okay, I know there are a billion squash soup recipes out there and that everyone swears by one or another, but this one is the purest, simplest and most true flavor I’ve ever made. I do NOT add garlic to this one because it’s just too beautiful without it! Shocking I know. Honestly I just love the clarity of this soup and think it showcases the squash so beautifully. Don’t mess with it, but give it a shot with some grilled cheese. It stores incredibly well too. Oh! I don’t add dairy to it either.

I mean it. Don’t mess with this perfection.

3. Creamy Roasted Tomato, Garlic & Onion Coconut Soup – Oh She Glows

Source: Oh She Glows (Angela Liddon)

Now before you say you don’t like coconut, just give it a shot. It’s spicy, rich and amazingly deep in flavor. Plenty of ‘hands off’ time as well so you can get some other things done while it’s roasting away. It’s my favorite tomato soup to make in the fall and winter.

Thanks for the memory jolt, maybe now I’ll toss these back into the rotation.

Soon.

 

What are you cooking with the weather changes? Soups? Stews? Any good recipes I should hear about? 

Something to say? Feel like telling me I'm fabulous?

