Getting To Know You – 1st CDP Exchange Edition

Well! I am SO stinkin’ excited to be participating in Rachel‘s “Crappy Day Package Exchange” this time around. I’ve been looking forward to it and now that it’s here I just can’t freaking WAIT.  I answered the questions on her registry post, but here are a few more ‘getting to know you’ kind of questions. (Thanks for the questions, Oprah.)

Who was your favorite celebrity as a child?
I had a SERIOUS crush on Jonathan Brandis of “Side Kicks”,  “Ladybugs” and “Seaquest:DSV” fame. I read all the teeny bopper magazines and cut his photos out, watched his movies and shows religiously. It was a bit ridiculous. Unfortunately he had a rough go of it later in life and passed away. 

What type of pets do you have?
I have one cat. I had two up until a couple years ago, bless my little Obi Wan’s heart.  I grew up with both cats and dogs and have owned rats, guinea pigs and hamsters as well. Not really a fish gal. I think they make boring pets. Pretty, but boring.

What is your favorite color?
I honestly don’t have a favourite colour. I gravitate towards bright ones. Pink, purple and aqua always catch my eye. Navy and white stripes, bright yellows and corals. I really just love colour and combining colours! I’m a fan of bold combinations.

What is most memorable about your high school years?
Gosh, I don’t even know. I was active in every band and choir I could get into. I played three sports (field hockey, swimming, track & field) plus a club swim team. I was on academic competition teams, student council president, NHS…I was a bit overactive so there are many memories it is hard to choose.  I just loved being busy, being competitive and succeeding.

What word describes you best?
Empathic.

What drives you every day?
Wanting to be a better person and to experience all I can.

What is your favorite food?
Aaahahaha. Favourite food? I just love food in general.  Sushi. Quinoa. Cheese. Salted chocolate. Coconut.

Where do you like to vacation?
I have big dreams of a long,wind-y, backpacking kind of vacation to Southeast Asia where I sample all the foods, shop in all the markets and just explore the culture.. I have a fascination with Morocco and for some reason, recently, I really want to go to Hawaii.  I rarely think of hot tropical holidays though, I’m not much of a beach lounger. I go for interesting history, culture and FOOD.  I WOULD like to take a house boating type vacation!

Who do you admire?
My Nana. I am named after her. She graduated from University of Alabama in the 40’s, married a Yankee, moved away from her family in Alabama and is one of the strongest, most beautiful and classiest women I’ve ever met. I would be a blessed woman to grow up a fraction of the woman my grandmother is.

What is your mission?
To be kind, generous, compassionate, grateful and loving. To be passionate and well educated.  To see the best in everyone despite their flaws as we all have them. To make a difference somewhere, in someone. 

What traits in others are you attracted to?
Kindness. Sense of humour. Loyalty. Understanding.

What is the kindest thing anyone has done for you?
Honestly? Listened to me, a near stranger, when I really needed an ear.

How do you want to be remembered?
I’d like to be remembered as someone that loved hard and cared about people.

What would you do with a million dollars?
Buy a home, settle debts, settle my family’s debts, donate to several charities.

If you were on an island, who would you want to be with? Why?
My Nana and Pe. I’d have all the time in the world to listen to their stories.

You have a 10 minute speech to give at a high school, what is it about?
Being passionate but flexible and goal oriented but gentle on yourself. 

What else would you like to know? 

2 thoughts on “Getting To Know You – 1st CDP Exchange Edition

Something to say? Feel like telling me I'm fabulous?

